Free Comic Book Day

Free Comic Book Day (FCBD) is the greatest day in the geek calender.  Every year on the first Saturday of May participating comic book shops have free comics to give out to all who enter.  The event, started back in 2002, celebrates all those brick and mortar stores across the country.  Now each shop will have its own rules on how many of the comics you can take, some might charge a little for extras as well, depending on how many comics they have and how many people visit, but you can be sure of one free comic just for showing up.  This year’s event is this Saturday May 4.

116109_456687_7

FCBD is arranged by all parts of the comic book industry: retailers, publishers, suppliers, and Diamond Comic Distributors.  Publishers provide special issues at cost to retailer who then give them out for free.  Diamond handles marking and logistics.

The comics for this year provides a wide range for fans of all type.  For main stream comic fans include comics on Marvel’s next big crossover, Superman, and DC Nation Super Sampler.  For indy fans there is Archie Digest, 2000AD special, Absolution from Avatar Press, Aphrodite IX from Top Cow, Atomic Robo & Friends, Buck Rogers, Mouse Guard, Prince Valiant, Harbinger Wars from Valiant, Judge Dredd Classics, Mouse Guard, Tick, and more like that.

Comics for fans of Simpsons, Star Wars, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, Walking Dead,  Viz Media Sampler, Grimm (the TV show), Mass Effect, Sonic/Mega Man flip book, steampunk fans with Steam Engines of Oz. and other interests.  Comics for young kids like Pokemon and Hello Kitty from Viz Media, Kaboom! sampler, Sesame Street, Spongebob, Smurfs, Avengers Assemble, Disney Fairies, Top Shelf Kids Club, and more for the little ones or pretend you are picking them up for kids you know like I do.  Bleeding Cool and Overstreet will both have magazines with information on comic previews, articles and interviews to pick up as well.

My suggestion to you is to make a list of the ones you are most interested in, as it can get a little hard to remember which ones you really want as compared to kind of want.  Also be kind and check out your chosen store, or stores, inventory and pick something up.  Even something small would be a help.  Or if they do not have what you are looking for, ask them about ordering it for you.

To find a local shop use their store locator.  I can tell you that Lost Legion Games & Comics in South Charleston, Princeton, Beckley, and Vienna; Four Horsemen and Gary’s Comics in Morgantown; Comic Paradise Plus in Fairmont; Purple Earth Comics and Comic World in Huntington are listed participants.  If you are willing to travel a little farther some stores are holding special events.

 

 

 

 
I know I have been gone for most of this month, but I have been dealing with some personal demons for a few weeks. I missed a few events to post about, or do a Tri-Con review (it was great), or even go to events. Just letting you know I do not plan to stop posting on this site and will continue to do my best for all.

Jewel City Game Con Round 2

Jewel City Game Con is a table top gaming convention ready for its second year. The con is April 19 – 20 at the Veterans of Foreign Wars of Guyandottee in Huntington.

Jewel City Game Con: Round 2

It starts Friday at noon.  They will be using the ballroom downstairs till 7pm, but have an upstairs gaming area till midnight.  Saturday is 9am till 7pm for the ballroom and till midnight upstairs;  Sunday it is noon to 7pm

There will be tournaments for Pirate Dice, Ra, and Terra Nova all weekend long with the finals on Sunday.  Three days of the Star Wars living world RPG run by SparkForce7, Patfinder Society, HeroClix, and Magic the Gathering on Saturday.  There will be an open play community library up stairs for all to enjoy.

The VFW will have a kitchen to buy hot dogs, burgers, fries, chips, or drinks.  You can bring your food as well and a bar for those 21 and over.  There is no space for vendors.

Passes are $15 for the weekend, $10 for Friday or Saturday, and $5 for Sunday.  Children under 10 and military members with valid ID get in free.  You can buy your badge and pre-reg for events with MSTB Gaming.

Little con for die hard gamers and those who want to meet some other local gamers.