Free Comic Book Day

Free Comic Book Day (FCBD) is the greatest day in the geek calender.  Every year on the first Saturday of May participating comic book shops have free comics to give out to all who enter.  The event, started back in 2002, celebrates all those brick and mortar stores across the country.  Now each shop will have its own rules on how many of the comics you can take, some might charge a little for extras as well, depending on how many comics they have and how many people visit, but you can be sure of one free comic just for showing up.  This year’s event is this Saturday May 4.

116109_456687_7

FCBD is arranged by all parts of the comic book industry: retailers, publishers, suppliers, and Diamond Comic Distributors.  Publishers provide special issues at cost to retailer who then give them out for free.  Diamond handles marking and logistics.

The comics for this year provides a wide range for fans of all type.  For main stream comic fans include comics on Marvel’s next big crossover, Superman, and DC Nation Super Sampler.  For indy fans there is Archie Digest, 2000AD special, Absolution from Avatar Press, Aphrodite IX from Top Cow, Atomic Robo & Friends, Buck Rogers, Mouse Guard, Prince Valiant, Harbinger Wars from Valiant, Judge Dredd Classics, Mouse Guard, Tick, and more like that.

Comics for fans of Simpsons, Star Wars, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, Walking Dead,  Viz Media Sampler, Grimm (the TV show), Mass Effect, Sonic/Mega Man flip book, steampunk fans with Steam Engines of Oz. and other interests.  Comics for young kids like Pokemon and Hello Kitty from Viz Media, Kaboom! sampler, Sesame Street, Spongebob, Smurfs, Avengers Assemble, Disney Fairies, Top Shelf Kids Club, and more for the little ones or pretend you are picking them up for kids you know like I do.  Bleeding Cool and Overstreet will both have magazines with information on comic previews, articles and interviews to pick up as well.

My suggestion to you is to make a list of the ones you are most interested in, as it can get a little hard to remember which ones you really want as compared to kind of want.  Also be kind and check out your chosen store, or stores, inventory and pick something up.  Even something small would be a help.  Or if they do not have what you are looking for, ask them about ordering it for you.

To find a local shop use their store locator.  I can tell you that Lost Legion Games & Comics in South Charleston, Princeton, Beckley, and Vienna; Four Horsemen and Gary’s Comics in Morgantown; Comic Paradise Plus in Fairmont; Purple Earth Comics and Comic World in Huntington are listed participants.  If you are willing to travel a little farther some stores are holding special events.

 

 

 

 
I know I have been gone for most of this month, but I have been dealing with some personal demons for a few weeks. I missed a few events to post about, or do a Tri-Con review (it was great), or even go to events. Just letting you know I do not plan to stop posting on this site and will continue to do my best for all.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s